Sportswomen of Colorado Names 2022 Honorees

Jan 23, 2023

Sportswomen of Colorado (SWOC) will honor an impressive lineup of 49 of Colorado’s top female athletes and contributors to women’s athletics at its 49th Annual Awards Celebration on Sunday, March 12, 2023 at the Hyatt Regency Denver Tech Center.

The women, coaches, and organizations are being recognized for their outstanding sports achievements during 2022. The award is a true testament to their incredible talent and dedication.

Some notable recipients include WNBA Coach of the Year Becky Hammon, MVP of the National Women’s Soccer League Sophia Smith, and volleyball coach Tom Hilbert who recently retired with more than 800 career victories at Colorado State University.

Metropolitan State University of Denver Women’s Basketball Coach Tanya Haave, former University of Tennessee Basketball All-American and three-time Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Coach of the Year, will be the keynote speaker. KOA Broncos sideline reporter and DJ at 103.5 The Fox Susie Wargin will present the awards.

The highlight of the evening will be the surprise presentation of the Sportswoman of the Year Award to the Colorado’s most outstanding athlete on the basis of her 2022 achievements. More banquet information can be found at

2022 Sportswomen of Colorado Award Winners:

Sport Categories
Lauren Betts – Basketball – High School (Grandview High School)
Mya Hollingshed – Basketball – College (University of Colorado)
Brooke Wilson – Cross Country – High School (Valor Christian)
Stephanie Cotter – Cross Country – College (Adams State University)
Victoria Sanders – Diving (Discovery Canyon High School)
Carol Whipple – Duathlon
Zoe Martin – Field Hockey (Colorado Academy)
Hadley Ashton – Golf – High School (Erie High School)
Leigha Devine – Golf – College (Rutgers University)
Jill McGill – Golf – Senior
Lauren Burt – Gymnastics – High School (Lakewood High School)
Jessica Hutchinson – Gymnastics – College (University of Denver)
Mariah Bell – Ice Skating (USA Olympic Team)
Shea Murphy – Lacrosse – High School (Green Mountain High School)
Kyleigh Peoples – Lacrosse – Division II College (Regis University)
Sam Thacker – Lacrosse – Division I College (University of Denver)
Nell Rojas – Marathon
Kira Mullins – Mountain Biking (Columbine High School)
Allie McLaughlin – Mountain Running
Megan Torrence – Shooting (Homeschool, Calhan, CO)
Katie Hensien – Skiing (University of Denver)
Naomi Clark – Soccer – High School (Grandview High School)
Civana Kuhlmann – Soccer – College (University of Colorado)
Hailey Maestretti – Softball – High School (Lutheran High School)
Paige Adair – Softball – College (Colorado Mesa University)
Lucy Bell – Swimming – High School (Fossil Ridge High School)
Lily Borgenheimer – Swimming – College (Colorado Mesa University)
Lily Chitambar – Tennis (Boulder High School)
Peyton Garrison – Track and Field – Small High School (Coal Ridge High School)
Agur Dwol – Track and Field – Large High School (Mullen High School)
Brianna Robles – Track and Field – Division II College (Adams State University)
Micaela DeGenero – Track and Field – Division I College (University of Colorado)
Kara Winger – Track and Field – Professional
Shannon Feran – Triathlon (Colorado Mesa University)
Clare Gallagher – Ultra Marathon
Izzy Starck – Volleyball – High School (Rampart High School)
Rylee Hladky – Volleyball – College (Metropolitan State University of Denver)
Marissa Gallegos – Wrestling (Colorado Mesa University)

Special Awards
Ava Keenan – Most Promising (Vail Ski and Snowboard Academy, Mogul Skiing)
Ann Wolta Blackstone – Joan Birkland Leadership Award (St. Mary’s Academy, Golf)
Becky Hammon – Professional Coach of the Year (Las Vegas Aces, Basketball)
The Denver Broncos Foundation – Dorothy Mauk Pioneer Award (Flag Football)
Damon Martin – Milestone (Adams State University, Cross Country)
Mary Smith – Comeback (Track and Field)
Shannan Lane – High School Coach of the Year (Pueblo South Boys Basketball)
Sophia Smith – Professional Athlete of the Year (Portland Thorns, Soccer)
Tom Hilbert – Legacy (Colorado State University, Volleyball)
Yasmine Hernandez – All-Around Campus Leadership (Colorado State University-Pueblo)
Zoe Rollins – Inspiration (Thompson Valley High School, Volleyball)

Special congratulations to U.S. Women’s Senior Open Golf Champion and Cherry Creek High School Graduate Jill McGill who enters the Sportswomen of Colorado Hall of Fame for receiving her third SWOC award in the same sport.

About Sportswomen of Colorado:
Founded in 1974, Sportswomen of Colorado is a community-based organization that supports and honors female athletes, celebrates their achievements, and recognizes those whose efforts have advanced girls’ and women’s individual and team sports endeavors. Sportswomen of Colorado also runs a scholarship program, funding sports camp experiences for deserving girls aged 9-13.