Sportswomen of Colorado Names 2015 Award Winners, Hall of Fame Inductees

Feb 13, 2015

DENVER, CO – February 3, 2015 – Sportswomen of Colorado will honor 45 of Colorado’s top female athletes and contributors to women’s athletics at its 41st Annual Awards Celebration on Sunday, March 8, 2015 at the Marriott Denver Tech Center.

San Antonio Spurs Assistant Coach Becky Hammon, Olympic gold medalist Amy Van Dyken-Rouen and last year’s Sportswoman of the Year, Mikaela Shiffrin, highlight the list.

ESPN writer and former University of Colorado basketball player Kate Fagan will speak at the event, and Susie Wargin and Marcia Neville will present the awards.

The highlight of the evening will be the surprise presentation of the Sportswoman of the Year Award to the Colorado’s most outstanding athlete on the basis of her 2014 achievements. More banquet information can be found at

2015 Sportswomen of Colorado Award Winners:

Tae’lor Purdy – Basketball – College (Regis University)
Justine Hall – Basketball – High School (Regis Jesuit High School)
Marlen Esparza – Boxing (USA Boxing)
Elise Cranny – Cross Country – College (Stanford University)
Katie Rainsberger – Cross Country – High School (Air Academy High School)
Katie Compton – Cyclo-Cross (USA Cycling)
Alexa Beckwith – Diving (St. Mary’s Academy High School)
Jennifer Kupcho – Golf (Jefferson Academy High School/ Colorado Women’s Golf Association)
Julia Murphy – Field Hockey (Colorado Academy High School)
Nicole Hensley – Ice Hockey (Lindenwood University)
Jessica Berg – Lacrosse (Air Academy High School)
Kendall Chase – Rowing (University of California)
Hannah Stolba – Rugby (Glendale Raptors)
Abigail Votava – Shooting (Lewis-Palmer High School)
Kristine Haugen – Skiing – College (University of Denver)
Mikaela Shiffrin – Skiing – Pro (U.S. Ski Team)
Mallory Pugh – Soccer (U.S. Soccer/Real Colorado)
Tatum Barton – Soccer – High School (Columbine High School)
Janine Beckie – Soccer – College (Texas Tech University)
Haley Hutton – Softball – College (Colorado State University)
Murphy McRoberts – Softball – High School (Fossil Ridge High School)
Annie Ochitwa – Swimming (ThunderRidge High School)
Tate Schroeder – Tennis (Arapahoe High School)
Dior Hall – High School Track (George Washington High School)
Haley Showalter – High School Field (Valor Christian High School)
Shalaya Kipp – College Track (University of Colorado)
Valarie Allman – College Field (Stanford University)
Danielle Mack (née Kehoe) – Triathalon – Pro
Ellen Hart – Triathalon – Masters
Taylor Simpson – Volleyball – College (University of Colorado)
Alexa Smith – Volleyball – High School (Lewis-Palmer High School)
Maya Nelson – Wrestling (Denver East High School)

Ryun Williams – Coach of the Year (Colorado State University Women’s Basketball)
Lewis-Palmer Girls Volleyball – Team of the Year
Adeline Gray – Achievement (USA Wrestling)
Michaela Onyenwere – All-Around (Grandview High School)
Jamie Burke – Career Achievement (Glendale Raptors)
Aubree Maul – Comeback (Metropolitan State University of Denver)
Kristine Chalk – Dedication (Mountaineering)
Becky Hammon – Dorothy Mauk Pioneer Award (San Antonio Spurs)
Amy Van Dyken-Rouen – Inspiration
Carson Saabye – Most Promising (Lewis-Palmer Middle School)
Gabby Loya – Perseverance (Wheat Ridge High School)
Justice Hendrix – Swede Johnson Spirit Award (Sheridan High School)
Kate Rau – Trailblazer (Colorado High School Cycling League)

Seven of the honorees will become members of the Hall of Fame for receiving three awards in the same sport over the years from the organization:

Valarie Allman – Track & Field
Alexa Beckwith – Diving
Elise Cranny – Cross Country
Becky Hammon – Basketball
Ellen Hart – Triathalon
Shalaya Kipp – Track & Field
Mikaela Shiffrin – Skiing

About Sportswomen of Colorado:
Founded in 1974, Sportswomen of Colorado is a community-based organization that supports and honors female athletes, celebrates their achievements and recognizes those whose efforts have advanced girls’ and women’s individual and team sports endeavors. Sportswomen of Colorado also runs a scholarship program, funding sports camp experiences for deserving girls aged 9-13.