Colorado Academy Lacrosse

Year: 2019
Award: Team of the Year, High School
Location/Affiliation: Colorado Academy, Denver

  • 5-time Lacrosse State Champions
  • Four Straight Undefeated Seasons

The High School Team of the Year Award is a special category and it requires an outstanding group of athletes. The 2019 honor goes to the Colorado Academy (CA) girls lacrosse team.

Coached by Stephanie Sanders, the Mustangs team is perhaps the most dominant girls high school lacrosse program in recent state history. Colorado Academy has produced five straight Colorado State Championships. Not only that, CA has gone undefeated in the state for the past four seasons, accumulating a remarkable 73-2 record over the same time span.

This is especially notable, given the growth of the sport in Colorado. Currently there are more than 50 schools who support lacrosse around the state. Perhaps the Mustangs team captain, Sloan Murphy, said it best when asked about the key to their success. “This team is culture; it’s family. It’s super meaningful to us and super special.”

Notice any missing information or inaccuracies in our honoree profiles?
Please email us at